FPU lands new Student Utility Board members for 2017-2018

Fayetteville Public Utilities welcomes all new Student Utility Board members for the 2017-2018 school year. The members include Trent Cowan, Allie Norton and Makenna Wicks from Lincoln County High School; Mitchell Beverly, Kathryn Collins and McKenlee Jean from Fayetteville City High School; and Andrew Black from Riverside Christian Academy.

FPU’s student board meets once each month during the school year to learn about our various utility departments, customer service and about how FPU plays an important role in our community. Monthly meetings are held from 11:15 am until 1:30 pm at either our main office or at other  FPU locations so that the group can go behind the scenes at FPU and gain in-depth and hands-on learning experiences from utility departments.

This year kicks off August 17 with an orientation day which will introduce the youth to FPU and what the Student Utility Board offers throughout the year, including FPU’s $1,000 scholarship. Many FPU employees will be involved in the SUB Orientation Day, so please help us welcome our new youth board.

The September meeting will focus on FPU’s Electric Department.